FROM #FanArmyFaceOff TO #WeLove1dAndKpop

Maybe I’m too simple, naive, clueless or oblivious to understand, but can someone explain to me what’s the point of Billboard’s Fan Army Face Off? I’m not sure for how long this has been a thing but I remember how awful things went last year because of this, it’s nothing but a fan war generator. As if there aren’t enough rivalries between fandoms anymore, this Fan Army Face Off thing only exists to add more wood to the fire.

In the past couple days I’ve been witnessing one of the most nasty fan wars on Twitter involving Directioners and Queens. It seems that both One Direction and T-ara’s fandoms were semi-finalists on this dumb competition. I’m not sure which fandom started this but one thing I’m sure: all this has been doing is deepen even more the gap between Kpop and western music. To be honest, I’m not quite familiar with T-ara’s fandom, but I’ve known and been part of the One Direction fandom for four years now and I know how agressive and overly-competitive Directioners can be when it comes to this kind of competitions.

I’m not even going to get started on the offensive and disrespectful hastags both fandoms created against each other, but some of the crazy strategies used really caught my attention for how absurd they were. It seems that some Queens changed their Twitter profiles, pretending to be 1D stans and started saying they had cheated for Directioners to win, how messed up is this?? Of course, Directioners instantly started bragging about how they could totally drag down T-ara along with infinite racist jokes and degrading comments about Kpop.

I couldn’t believe what I was reading to be honest, these people have no idea how weird it feels for people like me to see others fighting like this. I might be a directioner for a really long time but it breaks my heart to see people I consider family to make such awful comments about something I love so much. On the other hand, it makes me really upset and uncomfortable to see Kpop stans attack the fandom I cherish the most in such a lowly way, specially because I haven’t even been a Kpop stan for that long. I keep asking myself why can’t people all over the world respect each others likes and dislikes. That’s why I think the Fan Army Face Off is a stupid idea, all it does is spike even more the hate between fandoms. Can you imagine how much more peaceful things would be if such competitions didn’t exist?

To prove my point (what I mean when I say the Fan Army Face Off deepened the gap between fandoms), today some Kpop stans (who obviously had nothing to do with the cheating Kpop stans who fucked up yesterday) started the hashtag #WeLove1dAndKpop on Twitter, probably trying to cool down things between Directioners and Queens and maybe take a step closer to “coexistance” between stans of both music genres. Unfortunately, it seems that yesterday’s war was wild enough to make us take like ten steps back from “coexistance”. From what I saw, all this hashtag did was make Directioners even more pissed and hateful towards Kpop.

I really don’t know what to think or say anymore, it really bothers me that both sides are so against each other however, I have faith. I still remember the tough times we went through back in 2012 when Beliebers and Directioners couldn’t stand each other and look where we are today! It may take a while, but I hope both sides will start understanding and respecting each other in a near future.

What do you guys think about this? I’d really like to know some opinions from both Directioners and Kpop stans…

FROM #FanArmyFaceOff TO #WeLove1dAndKpop

Leave a Reply

